A roof under the stars

This time she fell really hard
Harder than she ever had
Said, can’t trust anyone anymore
Said, there’s nothing to live for
I told her, “Let it heal, give it time
Not all wounds leave behind scars..”

She built a roof over her head
And painted the walls red
Said, she can sleep better
Said, she will feel safer
I told her, “When you open your eyes
You’re going to miss the stars..”

They found her next morning
Outside, in the garden, hanging
She left behind a life so wrecked
Moved on with a scarf around her neck
I went to see her one last time
And to her I sang the Wild mountain thyme
She still had that peaceful smile
Happiest I’ve seen her in a while
They said she left a note for me
In red letters, dated September 23
She wrote, “Don’t be mad at me
Now I’ll live among the stars..”

So never ask me this again,
Why I sleep without a roof, under the stars..